SPRINGFIELD, Ill. — Illinois Gov. J.B. Pritzker and state lawmakers are promoting legislation that would increase penalties for drivers who don’t slow or change lanes to avoid vehicles on the side of the road.
The proposed legislation to strengthen Scott’s Law is a reaction to the deaths of two Illinois State Police troopers this year as they performed their duties.
The proposal would increase the minimum fine for a first violation of the move-over law from $100 to $250.
Subsequent violations would carry a minimum fine of $750.
Violators also would be charged an additional $250 fee that would help fund education and enforcement of the law.
The legislation was filed by Democratic state Rep. Marcus Evans of Chicago.
The proposed changes would also increase a violation to a Class 4 felony, punishable by up to one to three years in prison, if the violation results in an injury or death of another person. It also amends the law to include firefighter and emergency medical service personnel while acting within the scope of their official duties.